Late Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto were listed among the UNESCO sites in June 2002, in Budapest , during the 26th session of the International Scientific Committee The Committee decided to list the Baroque towns of Val di Noto in the World Heritage List on the basis of the criteria: ( I) – ( II ) – ( IV ) – ( V ).

“The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily: Caltagirone, Militello Val di Catania, Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo, Ragusa and Scicli, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building.”

To discover more about this site: